Alliance Francaise (Information and Intoduction)


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Alliance Française (AF) is often known as an organization although Alliance seems more like lady to me. Organizationally its mission is to promote French language and culture outside France. It is headquartered in Paris.

Yes, Again I’m getting back to the black and white era, Alliance was created in Paris on 21 July 1883 by a group of eminent men, I heard the scientist Louis Pasteur, the diplomat Ferdinand de Lesseps, the writers Jules Verne and Ernest Renan, and the publisher Armand Colin were included in that group.

Even, The French government also provides a subsidy covering approximately five percent of its budget (nearly €665,000 in 2003)

More than 440,000 students learn French at one of the centres run by the Alliance, 1071 locations in 133 different countries. In Alliance Française de Dhaka is one of them where I belong.

The organizations outside Paris are local, independently-run franchises. The Alliance Française brand is owned by the Paris centre. In many countries, the Alliance Française of Paris is represented by a Délégué général…

In 2005, along with the Società Dante Alighieri, the British Council, the Goethe-Institut, the Instituto Cervantes and the Instituto Camões, the Alliance française was awarded the Prince of Asturias Award for outstanding achievements in communications and the humanities.

Alliance had written its name in our land before we got an independent name, Bangladesh. Yes, In 1959, Alliance Started it’s journey our ground. Alliance Française de Dhaka is placed in Dhanmondi, the most active place of capital and even the heart of the cultural and artistic activities in Bangladesh.

Our courses in French as a foreign language are conform to the CEFR and are offered for each level.

In 2009 they opened to new branch, one in Baridhara the other in Uttara.

I heard, every year more than 3000 students learn French at Alliance Française de Dhaka, about 1000 students enroll for the artistic courses; and thousands of art lovers visit for the versatile cultural activities…wow…

Usually Alliance follows 3 exclusive type of French learning section-

-French courses for adults

-French Courses for Teenagers/Ado (13-15 Years)

-French Courses for Children/Enf (9-11 Years)

4 sessions in year as January, April, July, October in two different type of packages as Intensive and Extensive.

Most of all, you’d rather discover yourself in France every time you walk through Alliance Française. Intelligence of the teaching style, multimedia classes, glowing café, an artistic library, photographs, Portraits on the wall and the each of art flows there with the dust….

Perceptibly reminds you the softness of life, gentility of heart….

Students not only come here to learn French… there are so many creative courses offered…

Photography,

Videography,

Digital Cinematography,

Screenplay Techniques,

Screenplay Writing,

Working Directors,

Art of Interior Designing,

One Year Comprehensive Course – Interior Design,

Piano, Western Classical Guitar,

Violin & Cello,

Music Composition,

Latin Dance including Salsa, Tango, Rumba, Mamba, Cha-Cha-Cha, Waltz.

And you know something; all these courses are most rare courses in Bangladesh. Even the fees are least according to the things you’re goona acquire…

Always you’ll find here Parties, Workshops, Competitions, Exhibitions… Even the subjects are sometimes really so shocking to find in Bangladesh… In one of my earlier post, I’ve said Alliance opened me so many windows to see same view in different facets… Yes, it’s a social place you’ll never find it low… Every second there’s a new view… new exilic… new color… new taste…

I remember, after reading my few posts in this blog about alliance Française and checking the photographs I’ve taken here, 4 of my friends Shuvo, Ananad, Fahim and Shafkat knocked me with a doubt

“Is the place is in Bangladesh?”

I smiled and said “Let me take you there”

They went with me, as knew that they’ll feel unlucky after meeting Alliance Française that they didn’t meet her before…

Yes!! It was unbelievable to them and very proud feeling for me… That I belong here…

Here are some photographs I’ve taken there…

4 Comments

  1. atstudio5 said,

    April 14, 2010 at 2:59 am

    What a wonderful post! I can remember as a young girl way back when in my teenage years, I’m 42 now, I have always loved the French/European culture and what it stood for, what it represents, and its history. I took French classes during my junior high school years in hopes of getting my education in Paris, but sadly enough, I never pursued it to the extent I would have loved.

    My daughter, now 15, is taking French in high school. She’s taken to the language like a baby takes to candy. Her dialect and pronunciations are superb. She understands the differences in when referring to a man and woman and is able to conjugate very well – far more better than I ever did, however, I still know a few sentences and phrases.

    I always said I was going to take my baby to Paris one of these days. But as finances continue to tighten in this tough economy, and she continues to grow, I encourage her to see the world I didn’t get to see, to open her heart and mind to many experiences of life that can be both uplifting/fulfilling and educational. Learn that she may be able to share with others.

    It is my belief that children today should be exposed to different cultures of the world, fluently speak several languages and just see how the world evolves around us, rather than be caught up in the gang life so many of our young kids get caught in – some knowing and some unknowing. They need to know that there is another life out there outside of teen pregnancy, drugs and living a criminal life.

    I love what Alliance Francaise is about and what it represents. What a tremendous experience for our young people and adults alike.

  2. bogiebob said,

    April 14, 2010 at 10:34 pm

    Your blog is a great ambassador for AF, France and creativity. Don’t think I have encountered content quite like this before. Very interesting and innovative. Must admit I had never heard of AF, but they sound like they are worth knowing about – are they a sort of French version of the Goethe institute?

  3. Nandita Ahmed said,

    April 15, 2010 at 1:30 am

    ur blog an awswome one…..each and everytime u r getting better and better..i never thought u would be sooo creative..well done man

  4. August 13, 2011 at 10:39 am

    Thanks for sharing excellent information. Your web site is so cool. I am impressed by the details that you have on this blog. It reveals how nicely you understand this subject. Bookmarked this web page, will come back for extra articles.


Share your happiness...

